Winter Garden

My final birthday surprise was dinner at a secret location. I was told to meet boy at Baker Street at 7.45pm. After blowing all my guesses I had no idea where we were going and I remember being busy at work and was so close to google-ing “restaurants in Baker Street”  but every time I got round to it, something came up. However, for once, I don’t think Google would have helped.

We arrive and walk into a building named 222. I was confused and my initial thoughts were, this must be a posh restaurant I haven’t heard about. Then I saw palm trees and thought wow, this place looks similar to The Winter Garden. Then as we walked up the grand, golden and rich hallway I realised it was The Winter Garden. It is the restaurant for The Landmark Hotel London, situated at the soaring eight-story glass roof atrium. We were shown to our seats (with pillows) and gasped took pictures of the surroundings. The ambiance was quiet but buzzing, it was busy but everyone was spaced out so you have privacy, the lights were dim giving an intimate feel and there was a pianist playing (who we spotted sitting upstairs). Surrounded by palm trees and the twinkling stars above us, it felt like we were sitting outside in a hot country. Our waiters were lovely, polite and patient (we couldn’t decide what to eat as everything on the menu sounded delicious). Dinner;

Starters

  • Wild mushroom ravioli (boy)
  • Lobster risotto (girl)

Main

  • Chargrilled rack of Cotswold lamb, herb crust, boulangere potato and minted salsify (boy)
  • Wild halibut, roasted sweet potato, brown shrimp and baby leeks (girl)

The dinner was really tasty and mine was better than boys (for once!) I was quite smitten about this, but seeming as it was my birthday I was allowed. During dinner, the pianist played a really nice and melodic happy birthday piece and I got worried thinking they knew it was my birthday. Panic over. It was just a random piece. As we were deciding what to have for dessert, the happy birthday piece was played again and the waiters came out with candles and chocolates. I used to love stuff like this but OMG how embarrassing. A very sweet thought nevertheless.

We had ice cream and mint tea for dessert and then wandered around the venue, taking in the lovely tranquil atmosphere and admiring the exquisite design. It has an amazing mirror bar too. It felt like a mini holiday, with all the palm tress and neither of us wanted to leave.

You must remember to look up. The sky looks amazing at night through the glass roof.

(I shall be adding photos as soon as I locate them)

Leave a Reply

